Learning Theories – EDUC6115 – Week 7 Application

What a difference a semester makes. Thinking back on the first week and my response to the first discussion, I saw myself very specifically as a Cognitive and Constructivist learner with a bit of a superior attitude against the behavioral learning theory. Seven weeks later I understand myself to fit into all of the learning theories we’ve studied.

I just purchased a laptop and the keyboard is different from any I’ve used before (the delete key is in a completely different location; the NUMLOCK key turns the keypad into three different functions; etc.). Mastering this keyboard will require a behavioral approach; repeating the correct keystrokes enough times to commit them to memory. All the advanced cognitive and constructivist skills in the world won’t help me, I’ll simply have to get it right enough times to secure it in memory. When I study for the MTEL exams I will utilize specialized practice material designed to target cognitive processes. To utilize the blog I created in this course for purposes later on or beyond this program I’ll have to take a constructivist approach to finding different applications for the blog. My mathematical and linguistic intelligences are strong, my bodily-kinesthetic intelligence can be improved (I am remarkably uncoordinated, a complete klutz).

And so it goes. I am able to find some aspect of my learning ability in each of the learning theories.

This leads me to reiterate my belief that all of us fit into all of the learning theories at some point in our development and all of the learning theories are important and must play a part in informing curriculum design selection.

As to the role of technology in learning, I reaffirm my earlier statements; technology enhances my ability to learn by affording me immediate access to whatever I need and freeing me, encouraging me to explore and expand. Technology – in particular search engines, information sharing technologies (wikis, blogs, e-braries, etc.), and networking – allows me to approach learning in various ways, including ways which are unfamiliar or outside my preferred leaning style. This cultivates all of my intelligences and enhances my ability to learn.

I have remembered more in this course than I have in a long time. Without realizing it I have been limited by a specific learning style (a resource intensive cognitive approach to categorizing material for recall). This course has showed me different ways to approach learning new material and I’ve deliberately practiced/applied and incorporated new tricks which have had immediate and positive impact on my ability to learn  (mnemonics and visual representation, for example.)

Frankly, this amazes me.

About Darlene Loebel
Software consultant with 20 years experience in Software Engineering and graduate student in Instructional Design & Technology at Walden University.

Comments are closed.

